top of page
Chicago Cubs: 1926-1940, by Art Ahrens

The Chicago Cubs of the mid-1920s through 1940 were one of the most talented and exciting ball clubs the city ever produced.  North Side fans enjoyed 14 consecutive winning seasons as their team claimed the National League pennant four times (1929, 1932, 1935, and 1938), but fell to a dominant American League club in each World Series appearance.  Four legendary baseball names led the Cub teams during this amazing stretch.  Three eventually landed in Cooperstown (McCarthy, Hornsby, Hartnett), and many believe the fourth (Grimm) should have joined them.  This was also the era when Cubs Park was transformed into Wrigley Field, with its trademark bricks and ivy, hand-operated scoreboard, and outfield bleachers.  Art Ahrens revisits this unforgettable era with all the aplomb of a master storyteller and the passion of a lifelong Cub fan. ​

Softcover, 6 x 9, 128 pgs. 

Chicago Cubs: 1926-1940, by Art Ahrens

bottom of page